The Boeing Company Supports National Merit Scholars

Thirty of the 35 business-funded scholarships given to Seattle-area Merit Scholarship finalists this year came from The Boeing Company.

Each of the 30 students will receive $1,500 a year for four years for use at their chosen four-year colleges and universities. Students are selected as Merit scholars based on their test scores on the Preliminary Scholastic Assessment Test (PSAT), which they take in the fall of their junior year of high school. Selections also are based on recommendations from school officials and academic achievement.

"These students have outstanding records of accomplishment and great potential for future academic success," said Jim Glickert, senior manager of College and University Relations. "The company is proud to support not just our employees in their lifelong learning, but their sons and daughters as well."

Nationally, Boeing awarded scholarships to 74 high school graduates residing in Alabama, California, Georgia, Kansas, Missouri, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Texas and Washington. "This year, Boeing will contribute more than $1.2 million in scholarships," said John Warner, senior vice president and chief administrative officer. "These scholarships in particular are a great example of how we directly assist employees' families in reaching their education goals."

Seattle-area students who will receive scholarships from Boeing are:

  • Alyson Barham, Redmond High School, Redmond
  • Robert Bradshaw, Woodinville High School, Woodinville
  • Rebecca Clark, Holy Names Academy, Seattle
  • Ryan Collins, Mercer Island High School, Mercer Island
  • Rachael DeSouza, Holy Names Academy, Seattle
  • Ranae DeSouza, Holy Names Academy, Seattle
  • Karen Dunham, Kings High School, Seattle
  • Andrea Folmer, Kentridge Senior High School, Kent
  • Christine Hansen, Kentwood Senior High School, Kent
  • Kristin Hoelting, South Whidbey Island High School, Langley
  • Jonathan Hoglund, Stadium High School, Tacoma
  • Matthew Hughes, Mount Rainier High School, Des Moines
  • Natalie Johnson, Thomas Jefferson High School, Auburn
  • Daniel Ketchum, Kentwood Senior High School, Kent
  • Yunie Kim, Shorewood High School, Shoreline
  • Devin Kipp, Charles A. Lindbergh High School, Renton
  • Elise Koncsek, The Bush School, Seattle
  • Jennifer Mabe, Garfield High School, Seattle
  • Douglas McGregor, John F. Kennedy High School, Burien
  • Tracey Mikasa, Kentridge Senior High School, Kent
  • Elizabeth Murray, The Nova Project, Seattle
  • C. Jonathan Royalty, Newport High School, Bellevue
  • Harmony Schloer, Kentwood Senior High School, Kent
  • Sean Snyder, Thomas Jefferson High School, Auburn
  • Nicholas Stipanovich, Decatur High School, Federal Way
  • Elspeth Suthers, University of Washington Transition School, Seattle
  • Rebecca Wilcox, Oliver M. Hazen High School, Renton
  • Celia Wilson, Liberty High School, Renton
  • Michael Yu, Newport High School, Bellevue
  • Kristel Zachow, Thomas Jefferson High School, Auburn


For further information:
Amanda Landers
(206) 655-6123